Live blogging the article: 21 June

I downloaded some journal lists from Discovery on Monday.

And then on Wednesday I had a migraine.  One of those I-want-to-rip-my-face-off, make-it-stop, three-days-of-horror migraines.  Usually, I get them because I’ve been working too hard, too much stress, not drinking enough water, not getting enough sleep–and then I ate cheese or grapefruit or looked at the sun or something and that’s it.

Anyway, it put my plans for research on hold.  I had to postpone my research consultation with a librarian. I didn’t get to Shut Up and Write.

On Friday, I drew this:

Writing an article

I’m somewhere between ‘Where is this mountain?’ and ‘Am I making any progress?’

So, a rubbish week. I keep waiting for the stage when I become a model researcher… but I suspect it might not happen.  That’s what you risk when you are an academic in public.

2 Comments

  1. This ‘writing in public’ thing looks hard, Katherine.

    I think you deserve to go easy on yourself. Then again, I always go easy on myself, so that is my advice in 99% of situations.

    I worked with someone who was a tent boss for circuses. In that job, she was responsible for the safety of everybody in the tent. At the end of the day, she really could (and did) say, “Did anyone get hurt? Did anyone die? No? OK, that was a good day.”

    Sounds like you had a day where you had to say, “Yes, I got hurt today. I stressed myself out and it hurt. A lot!” Since you are working alone, it seems to me that you need to be your own health and safety rep – maybe put up a “x days since last migraine” sign.

    Can’t hurt (well, not as much as a migraine anyway).

Leave a Reply

