What to do when your thesis is rejected by the examiners

The Thesis Whisperer talks about what to do when your thesis is rejected by examiners, and suggests some fantastic blogs to follow to get advice and help. [Plus this blog. Yay!]
If you’re here because of that post, welcome!
At Research Degree Voodoo, we’re all about moving inside that magic circle of the academy, through practical tips and some deeper reflection about what it means to be an expert and a peer.
I’m always keen to answer reader questions, so get in touch in the comments or on Twitter, via @katrinafee!

The Thesis Whisperer

If you start a blog called ‘The Thesis Whisperer’ I suppose you should expect students to write to you asking for personal help. What has surprised me however is how OFTEN I get emails from students who are upset, confused or just plain pissed off.

Mostly these students are complaining about their supervisors.

doris-day-teacher's-pet3The rate these emails come in varies, but I would say it averages four a week – and they come from all over the world, not from within my institution. More men write to me than women – perhaps, if my facebook page and comment threads are anything to go by, this is because women find it easier to admit their vulnerabilities in public.

I sympathise with these students and at the same time I feel frustrated on their behalf. I know many capable and even brilliant supervisors, but I also know some who are…

View original post 1,274 more words

Leave a Reply

